Working 9 to 5…well, 8.30 to 6.00, but who’s counting?

Dolly Parton, Lily Tomlin and Jane Fonda may have had cause to complain about their work day, but I’ve never been so happy to have a job! After what felt like forever (but was, in actuality, about two months), I landed my first UK job as an account manager for a digital communications agency based in Covent Garden. Here are my three favourite things about work.

All digital, all the time

After spending the early part of my career in print, I’m thrilled to be immersed in full-on digital marketing. The learning curve is steep and every day I’m learning something new about how technology works and how we can use it to reach people more effectively.  I feel like buying every digital marketing book that’s ever been written, but I’m trying to pace myself.

Location, location, location

After six months of living in London and visiting loads of different areas, Covent Garden is definitely my preferred spot. Every morning I take the tube to Waterloo and walk across Waterloo Bridge, to the left is Southbank, the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben; to the right is St. Paul’s Cathedral, the City, and signs of the facelift this town is constantly undergoing.

The means to an end

It’s an old cliché that when you’re unemployed you have the time to do what you want but no money to do it with, and when you are employed you the money to do what you want but no time to do it in! Having experienced both scenarios I much prefer the second. It’s a struggle to find the appropriate work-life balance, but I get closer every week. And a paycheck that can help me achieve the life that I’ve always wanted is most appreciated.

//

Leave a Reply

