Change It Up

“All experience hath shewn that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable, than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed.” While I am not facing any evils (in the traditional sense of the word), I can appreciate the point the authors of the Declaration of Independence make about how hard it can be to change our lives when presented with the opportunity.

I, like most people, have spent whole months and even years of my life complaining about the way things are. Things like where I live, what size my thighs are, what job I have, the ups and downs of my love life and even the roller coaster that is my finances. We dream of how things could be; we establish plans, we create lists, we make resolutions. And very little ever changes.

There is no doubt that we truly want change. But this requires so much courage, so much energy and such a large measure of discomfort that most of us shy away when the time comes to act. We are none of us immune to the tug of the easy, the familiar, the status quo.

Very few people, once they reach a certain age with certain experiences, are given the chance to make a clean break of everything they know and create a new life for themselves. But I find myself in this very fortunate position. The person I love is waiting for me in one of my favorite international cities – my move weeks away. The opportunity for finding just the right job exists. New friends, new hobbies, new experiences – they’re all right there at my fingertips. And yet, the exhilaration of all this change is mingled with fear, and I find in myself the incomprehensible urge to resist the very things I’ve been wanting most.

Courage is required, as well as a sense of adventure and a deep curiosity for life. And so these things I will find and cultivate within me. Fear will not keep me contained within the parameters of ‘what I know’ and ‘the way it has always been’. It’s time to change things up.

(Thanks to Seth Godin‘s book The Dip for the inspiration behind this post.)

//

Leave a Reply

