Seasons Change

It’s no secret to those who know me that I live for the change of the seasons – transformation is a thrilling process to watch. There is so much power in a crocus when it’s pushing through the cold ground and late snow to bloom in early spring. The lazy way summer sits back on her heels and bakes in the sun speaks of complete insouciance. Autumn’s energetic and colorful displays feel like one last hurrah before winter settles itself over the land like a heavy blanket of grey sky and snow. But it’s not just nature’s seasonal changes that I dig. It’s the seasonality of life in general.

With a few notable exceptions, I’m happy that nothing lasts forever. I like the chapter aspect of life and the various ways you can divide it – childhood, teen years, young adulthood, mature adulthood; school years, work years; first job, second job, third job; etc. I love change and view it as an adventure. It’s never easy, don’t get me wrong, but there is an adrenaline rush in the challenge of it. 2010 will go down as a year of change in my book, and I think that the dust is finally settling from my latest round of adjustments.

In the Office: I made an important discovery while working at the clothes store – retail is the wrong place for me to be if I am trying to pay bills and save money. In the future, I will only take a part-time job at a retail store when I need to update my wardrobe. Can anyone say DSW? I am now [more or less] happily settled in an office job. The work is challenging and rewarding, I see room for growth within the company, the people I work with are pretty cool – what more could I ask for? There are still days when the utter absurdity of working life leaves me feeling desolate, but I keep Alain de Botton’s The Pleasures and Sorrows of Work on my desk to raise my spirits.

Outside the Office: After an amazing year of writing for the magazine, I’ve decided to move on. When I look back on it all – the plays I’ve seen, the museum exhibits I’ve visited, the people I’ve interviewed – I’m kind of overwhelmed! It was such a great experience, and I’m thankful for the opportunity. However, I felt like it was time to try something new. I’m in training as a docent at a historic house in Georgetown – learning about the Federal Style of architecture and design, the history of Georgetown and the gossip of the family. I’ve also just found a part-time position teaching English as second language – all that hard work in New York is finally being put to good use!

Looking Ahead: I really want a master’s degree, so I’m busy researching schools and grants and trying to narrow down my options. I would really like to leave DC – my restlessness kicking in again – and explore life somewhere new. I’m ready to plan

another vacation, learn a new language or the piano, and just enjoy life. To help me prepare, I plan on rereading Bertrand Russell’s The Conquest of Happiness.

Samuel Johnson said: “Life is not long and too much of it must not pass in idle deliberation how it shall be spent.” It’s a habit I easily fall into – plotting and planning, but never diving in fully. I’m ready for a new season of life lived every moment.

//

2 thoughts on “Seasons Change

  1. Mark Dassoulas says:

    Ah, yes, transition is most of life….. and awareness of the ‘going somewhere’ is many times more interesting than arrival. So what is it what makes us what to leave, to experience another going? How much going will be enough? So hard to fathom when young, with so many possibilities to consider.

    I have been asking these questions, in different ways with different subjects and words; trying to find answers eluding to the origins of a restless mind. A restless mind, is a curious mind, is an anxious mind, sometimes finding peace a difficult destination. We then bury our thoughts of as much in the next adventure, not realizing the energy restlessness takes, disguised by what it gives.

Leave a Reply

